The Taste of Art

Art and food, two of the things I live for. They always say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, though I am not a man, FOOD most certainly is one of the ways to my heart as well. The line between food and art is growing thinner and more blurry as the days go by. Food is no longer just a necessity, but, a pleasure, a luxury and a hobby. As the great French chef Xavier Marcel Boulestin once said, “Cookery is not chemistry. It is an art. It requires instinct and taste rather than exact measurements.” Here is a link that can give you a glimpse of how beautiful food can be.

http://webecoist.momtastic.com/2008/12/15/food-artists-and-sculptors/

Last week I paid a visit to “Hediards Café” in Dubai Festival City, and tried their Chicken Crouquet, it was beautiful to look at, and the perfect blend of salads and meat made my taste buds do a little dance. I love food as much as it loves me, I can tell by the way it clings to my body but that doesn’t prevent me from feeding my every hunger. You don’t need to have a lot of money to enjoy the best foods; all you need to do is spend a little time in your kitchen. I, for one am all for a good home cooked meal. Yesterday evening, I was craving potato wedges and since I don’t encourage frozen foods due to their various negative qualities, I decided to make them myself and they turned out pretty damn well , if I must say so myself. For me, it’s not just the taste of the food that matters but the way in which it is presented to me. Even if it something as simple as a cheese sandwich, it tastes so much better when it is cut into neat triangles and served with a side of honey with cucumber and tomato. A healthy snack that pleases the eyes, the tongue and the stomach.

 

Image

 

Art is everywhere and in everyone. All we need to do is appreciate it, be it in food, beauty, on  a canvas or your reflection.

Posted in Art

One thought on “The Taste of Art

  1. Pingback: Assessing taste and quality of dishes | Mircel's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

